AGENTED!

Apologies for the lack of updates here, but I’ve been working hard on a number of big projects lately, which has occupied most of my writing headspace. However, I now have some big news to share.

I am thrilled, no, make that piss-my-pants ecstatic, that I now have a literary agent for everything except for my children’s fiction.

You guys, I have an agent! AN AGENT!

Henceforth, I’ll be represented by Kristopher O’Higgins at Scribe Agency. I’ve been a big fan of Scribe since they started hosting parties at WisCon years ago, and they also represent a bunch of authors whom I greatly respect and consider friends: Darin Bradley, Mark Teppo, Forrest Aguirre, Berrien C. Henderson, and Marguerite Reed (you can see the full list here). I’m also jazzed that I’ve signed with Scribe during the year of its tin anniversary.

Kris has my 130,000-word novel, A Fickle and Restless Weapon, and will be working with me to tighten it up, and then shop it around. I really feel that this is my breakout work, and I look forward to seeing what he does with it.

SUPER YAY! SNOOPY DANCE!

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Publishing, Writing

2 responses to “AGENTED!

  1. Hi! I’ve written a book myself and am in the process of rewriting it. I have a few questions.
    1) Are you self-published?
    2) Is it true that self-publishing pays more than sending your work to a publish?
    3) How much does it cost to send your novel to a publisher?

    • 1) I am self-published, in a few small ways. Check around my site for Four Seasons in One Day, The Curragh of Kildaire, and “Complications of the Flesh.” But the vast majority of my work was published by other people.

      2) There are some outlying cases like Amanda Hocking who have made a lot of money self-publishing. But for every one of her, there are literally thousands upon thousands of self-published writers whose books are only selling in the dozens, if that. Plus, you have to do everything yourself, which leaves a lot less time for actual writing.

      3) It should cost nothing. If a publisher is demanding a fee to read your manuscript, run screaming in the opposite direction. Remember that trusted maxim: money flows toward the writer.

Leave a Reply

